Jan 27, 2010

Review: The Survivor's Club (by Ben Sherwood)

Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?

Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?

The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.

With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.

There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.


MY REVIEW

A Knitting Needle Through the Heart, The Supersonic Man, Hug the Monster, Too Mean to Die, The Resilience Gene, and How to Eat an Elephant. These are just some of the chapter titles in this amazing book.

Through the many chapters of this book, I was entertained, enlightened and awed by the true life stories of survivors. Some of these stories are so far removed from my own experiences that I found it almost unbelievable that these people actually survived.

Towards the end of the book, there are details on an internet based "Survivor Profiler Test". There are five distinct profile types covered in the book and on-line profile - Connector, Realist, Thinker, Fighter and Believer.

Here is the summary of the Survivor's Club on-line test that was generated from my answers - Your Survivor IQ tells you precisely which kind you are. After analyzing your answers, it’s clear that you’re a Connector. You overcome incredible adversity by harnessing and mobilizing the power of your relationships and bonds with other people. You are deeply devoted to your family and friends. Your love for your parents, spouse, partner, children and friends motivate you to tackle enormous obstacles. You know that your family and friends depend on you and need you. You hold these relationships sacred, and you will go to any lengths to protect and preserve them. You draw strength from these primary relationships and you often rely on support groups or social networks to help you through difficult times. You’re able to lean on others for aide and you know how to reach beyond your regular circle of friends to find the help you need. You’re a good networker who makes the most of your connections. You often feel great empathy for others who are struggling. You take care of other people before you look after yourself. You’re good at reading strangers and situations. You know how to get along with others. You play well on teams and work effectively with others to get things done. You survive because of your powerful bonds. You would endure anything – and go to any lengths – for the people you love. Above all, you’re a Connector. To see what it really means to be a Connector, consider the true story that appears in the Survivor Case Studies.

And according to the on-line survey, my three greatest strengths are .... Love, Faith and Hope.

Read this book ... you won't regret it!

I received a complimentary copy of The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life from Hachette Book Group for the purpose of review.

No comments:

Post a Comment